The Bone Mother

New Price: $16.98
Used Price: $3.99

Mentioned in:

The Shirley Jackson Award Celebrates Darkly Fantastic Literature


The 2017 Shirley Jackson Award nominees have been announced. Given for “outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic,” the award categories are as follows: Novel, Novella, Novelette, Short Story, Single-Author Collection, and Edited Anthology.

Here are the nominees (or Scary Stories Nominated for Awards [in the Dark]):

Ill Will by Dan Chaon (Our most recent interview with Chaon)
The Bone Mother by David Demchuk
The Changeling by Victor LaValle (Our 2016 interview with LaValle)
The Hole by Hye-young Pyun
The Night Ocean by Paul La Farge (Part of our 2017 Great Book Preview)

Single-Author Collection
Her Body and Other Parties by Carmen Maria Machado (Our review of Machado’s “body horrors”)
She Said Destroy by Nadia Bulkin
The Dark Dark by Samantha Hunt (Read our 2016 interview with Hunt)
The Doll’s Alphabet by Camilla Grudova
Things to Do When You’re Goth in the Country by Chavisa Woods

The rest of the nominees can be found at the award website.

Surprise Me!