NBCC 2016 Finalists, Leonard Prize, and Balakian Award Winners

January 17, 2017 | 10 books mentioned

The finalists for the annual National Book Critics Circle (NBCC) Award have been announced, offering up the customary shortlists of great fiction and nonfiction. In addition, the John Leonard Prize for best debut novel was awarded to Yaa Gyasi for Homegoing; the Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing went to Michelle Dean (check out her 2016 Year in Reading); and Margaret Atwood took home the Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award.

The NBCC Award will be presented March 17 in a public ceremony.





This is the byline used for site announcements and for articles by more than one Millions contributor.

Add Your Comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.