2011 National Book Critics Circle Award Winners Announced

March 8, 2012 | 3 books mentioned 4

The winners of the National Book Critics Circle Award have been announced in New York City. The award is voted on by critics and considers all books in English (including in translation), no matter the country of origin. The winners in the various categories and some supplementary links:

Fiction: Edith Pearlman, Binocular Vision (excerpt)

Nonfiction: Maya Jasanoff, Liberty’s Exiles: American Loyalists in the Revolutionary War (excerpt)

Autobiography: Mira Bartók, The Memory Palace: A Memoir (“The Writer at the Memory Table“)

Criticism: Geoff Dyer, Otherwise Known as the Human Condition: Selected Essays and Reviews (“Putting It Together,” “The Millions Interview: Geoff Dyer on the London Riots, the Great War, and the Gray Lady“)

Biography: John Lewis Gaddis, George F. Kennan: An American Life (excerpt)

Poetry: Laura Kasischke, Space, in Chains


Previously: The finalists

created The Millions and is its publisher. He and his family live in New Jersey.


  1. Is it in the NBCCA’s rules and regulations that they have to give the award to a fiction writer who lives within a six mile radius of the awards ceremony?

Add Your Comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.