2010 National Book Award Winners Announced

November 18, 2010 | 3 books mentioned 2

The 2010 National Book Awards were announced this evening. In fiction, Jaimy Gordon won for The Lord of Misrule; in nonfiction, Patti Smith won for Just Kids; in poetry, Terrance Hayes won for Lighthead; and for young people’s literature, Kathryn Erskine won for Mockingbird.

is a staff writer and contributing editor for The Millions. She is the author of the novella If You're Not Yet Like Me, the New York Times bestselling novel, California, and Woman No. 17. She is the editor of Mothers Before: Stories and Portraits of Our Mothers As We Never Saw Them.


  1. Well, The Millions has discussed this before, so now that “Lord of Misrule” has won the National Book Award for fiction, NOW what does the publishing house do in terms of a second printing?

  2. On October 13th, bestselling author Pat Conroy announced the finalists for this year’s National Book Award at the Historic Flannery O’Connor Childhood Home in Savannah, Georgia.

    2010 National Book Award Winners books :

    CULTURES OF WAR: Pearl Harbor, Hiroshima, 9-11, Iraq by John W. Dower
    DARK WATER by Laura McNeal
    EVERY MAN IN THIS VILLAGE IS A LIAR: An Education in War by Megan K. Stack
    GREAT HOUSE by Nicole Krauss
    I HOTEL by Karen Tei Yamashita
    JUST KIDS by Patti Smith
    LOCK DOWN by Walter Dean Myers
    LORD OF MISRULE by Jamie Gordon
    MOCKINGBIRD by Kathryn Erskine
    NOTHING TO ENVY: Ordinary Lives in North Korea by Barbara Demick
    ONE CRAZY SUMMER by Rita Williams-Garcia
    SECRET HISTORIAN: The Life and Times of Samuel Steward by Justin Spring
    SHIP BREAKER by Paolo Bacigalupi
    SO MUCH FOR THAT by Lionel Shriver

Add Your Comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.