Windham Campbell Prizes Name Recipients for 2019

March 13, 2019 | 1 book mentioned

The Windham-Campbell Prizes announced eight winners today at an event in London. Established in 2013, the prize seeks to “call attention to literary achievement and provide writers with the opportunity to focus on their work independent of financial concerns.” Each recipient is awarded $165,000, an unusually high sum for a literary prize.

The winners are as follows, with bonus links as applicable:

Danielle McLaughlin
David Chariandy (Writer of a “perfectly sculpted novel” according to Claire Cameron)

Raghu Karnad (Mentioned in Anuradha Roy’s Year in Reading)

Rebecca Solnit (Read our review of The Faraway Nearby here)

Ishion Hutchinson 

Kwame Dawes (Read his post for National Poetry Month)

Young Jean Lee 

Patricia Cornelius

This is the byline used for site announcements and for articles by more than one Millions contributor.

Add Your Comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.