2018 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize Shortlist Announced

September 6, 2018 | 7 books mentioned

The Center for Fiction First Novel Prize announced their 7-title shortlist, narrowed down from their 26-title longlist. The prize awards $10,000 to the author of the best debut novel of the calendar year.

Here is the 2018 shortlist, with bonus links where available (and several titles mentioned in our Great Book Preview!):

Asymmetry by Lisa Halliday

Confessions of the Fox by Jordy Rosenberg (Our interview with Rosenberg)

Freshwater by Akwaeke Emezi

The Parking Lot Attendant by Nafkote Tamirat

Pretend I’m Dead by Jen Beagin

There There by Tommy Orange

Trenton Makes by Tadzio Koelb

The Center for Fiction will announce the winner of the First Novel Prize in December.

This is the byline used for site announcements and for articles by more than one Millions contributor.

Add Your Comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.