The 2018 Walter Scott Prize Shortlist Celebrates Historical Fiction

April 17, 2018 | 6 books mentioned

The Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction announced their 2018 shortlist. Founded in 2010 in honor of the “founding father of the historical novel,” the award rewards “writing of exceptional quality which is set in the past.” The winner will be announced on June 16, 2018.

The 2018 shortlist is as follows:


Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan (The Millions’s profile of Egan)
Sugar Money by Jane Harris
Grace by Paul Lynch
The Wardrobe Mistress by Patrick McGrath
Miss Boston and Miss Hargreaves by Rachel Malik
The Gallows Pole by Benjamin Myers

Bonus link: Contributing Editor Sonya Chung‘s essay on historical fiction

This is the byline used for site announcements and for articles by more than one Millions contributor.