Prizes Archives - Page 12 of 24 - The Millions

November 15, 2010

Digging into the 2011 IMPAC Longlist 4


Because of the IMPAC award’s global reach and egalitarian process, it’s always interesting to dig deeper into the longlist.

October 13, 2010

2010 National Book Award Finalists Announced 1


Four women and one man – a pair of international names, a 20 under 40’er and a pair of lesser known names – make up the fiction finalists.

October 12, 2010

Booker Shocker: Finkler Takes the Prize 1


The surprising winner of the 2010 Booker Prize is Howard Jacobson’s The Finkler Question

October 7, 2010

The Nobel Prize in Literature Goes to Mario Vargas Llosa 3


Surprising the oddsmakers, the 2010 winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature is the Peruvian writer Mario Vargas Llosa.

October 6, 2010

They Could Have Been Contenders: Hot Tips on Latin America’s Nobel Candidates 2


Among the contenders are some six Hispanophone writers, with the favorite of the bunch running at 25/1 odds. Still, everyone loves an upset, and with that in mind, we’ve handicapped the group ahead of the big day.

September 28, 2010

2010’s Literary Geniuses 1


The MacArthur grant awards $500,000, “no strings attached” to “talented individuals who have shown extraordinary originality and dedication in their creative pursuits and a marked capacity for self-direction.”

September 7, 2010

Booker Shortlist Has Big Names But No Mitchell 2


The Booker field narrows, offering a mix of established names and relative unknowns.

July 27, 2010

The Booker’s Dozen: The 2010 Booker Longlist 10


With the unveiling of the Booker Prize longlist, the 2010 literary Prize season is officially underway. As is typically the case, the list offers a mix of exciting new names, relative unknowns and beloved favorites. Notable names include David Mitchell and Tom McCarthy.

June 18, 2010

The Prizewinners 2009/2010 2


With the awarding of the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, the 2009/2010 literary award season is now over, which gives us the opportunity to update our list of prizewinners.

June 18, 2010

The Twin Wins the IMPAC 0


The International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award has announced its winner: Gerbrand Bakker’s The Twin. The book was previously on the Best Translated Book Award shortlist. See Also: The IMPAC longlist and shortlist.