2011 National Book Award Winners Announced

By posted at 10:28 pm on November 16, 2011 1

The National Book Award winners for 2011 have been announced. The big prize for fiction went to Jesmyn Ward for Salvage the Bones, a novel one critic called “Katrina-drenched” and another “gritty, loamy and alive.” (excerpt)

The non-fiction award went to The Swerve: How the World Became Modern by Shakespeare scholar Stephen Greenblatt (excerpt). The Poetry award was won by Nikky Finney for Head Off & Split. The winner in the Young People’s Literature category was Inside Out and Back Again by Thanhha Lai (excerpt).


Bonus Link: The 2011 nominees

The Millions' future depends on your support. Become a member today!

Share this article

More from the Millions

One Response to “2011 National Book Award Winners Announced”

  1. Doug Seibold
    at 12:15 pm on November 17, 2011

    Jesmyn Ward is a remarkable writer who is truly worthy of this recognition, which I hope will bring her work the many, many new readers it deserves. My company, Agate, published her first book, Where the Line Bleeds, in 2008. She is writing beautiful fiction about the kinds of people and places everyone in America should know more about, if they really want to know more about America. It’s very potent stuff.

Post a Response

Comments with unrelated links will be deleted. If you'd like to reach our readers, consider buying an advertisement instead.

Anonymous and pseudonymous comments that do not add to the conversation will be deleted at our discretion.

NEW COMMENTING RULE: Comments may be held for moderation and/or deleted. Whitelisted commenters will see their comments appear immediately. Don't be a jerk. We reserve the right to delete your comment or revoke commenting privileges for any reason we want.