Ask a Book Question (#58): Books for Fans of Deadwood

February 12, 2008 | 14 books mentioned 7 2 min read

Poornima writes in:

My husband recently stumbled across an HBO series called Deadwood in the library. It’s a television series set in the Black Hills (Sioux Country – Dakotas and Wyoming) around 1876 and features a whole assortment of historically famous/notorious characters including Wild Bill Hickock and Calamity Jane.

I was wondering if you or your readers could direct us to some good historical fiction set in the period that captures the essence of Deadwood and the frontier spirit. It’s quite a fascinating aspect of American history.

coverYour interest in historical fiction in the same line as HBO’s Deadwood brings Larry McMurtry to mind first. I’d be very surprised if David Milch, Deadwood’s creator, hadn’t read McMurtry. McMurtry’s historical fiction about the American West – Lonesome Dove, Anything for Billy, The Streets of Laredo – is wonderful, and besides sharing Deadwood’s historical milieu, it also shares its tone, that wonderful mix of emotional intensity, brutality, tenderness and humor.

coverThe book of McMurtry’s that has the most explicit overlap with Deadwood is Buffalo Girls. This novel intertwines the stories of several different figures whose lives coincide with the winding down of the Wild West. Calamity Jane – so wonderfully portrayed by Robin Weigert in Deadwood – is one of these characters. McMurtry’s stuff is historically responsible but it is also, as was Deadwood, clearly enchanted with the old West and interested in its mythic, larger-than-life personalities. Anything For Billy, which takes Billy the Kid as its protagonist, tells his life from the perspective of an Eastern businessman/writer of dime-novels.

coverWilla Cather’s novels too might be of interest. Quite a lot of them are also set at moments of shift from wildness and lawlessness to “civilization” in various parts of North America. Death Comes to the Archbishop, one of my favorites, describes the settling of what is now New Mexico by French Catholic missionaries. Cather also offers fictionalized legends of the American West – Kit Carson figures in Death, for example. I also really like Shadows on the Rock, which is about the settling of Quebec. Cather’s work is a bit more lyrical and literary than McMurtry’s but, depending on your mood, they can be more satisfying for this.

I also have two cinematic recommendations: One is an indie Western called The Ballad of Little Jo. It tells the story of a wealthy nineteenth-century society woman who flees the East and her family, disguises herself as a man and lives as a cowboy in the West. That’s if you’re interested in other artistic depictions of women in the West.

A final recommendation is HBO’s Rome. I know that historically this is rather far afield but, apparently, David Milch originally imagined what became Deadwood as set in Rome at the time of Caesar. Such a show, however – Rome – was already in production when he pitched his idea and so he shifted the setting to nineteenth century Dakota territory. Though not Deadwood’s equal (I think Deadwood possibly the finest television show ever made), Rome shares something of Deadwood’s interest in lawlessness, or a different version of law – a more Hobbesian vision of human society in which power and aggression and ambition have more of a role to play.

Also recommended by The Millions for fans of Deadwood:

is a staff writer for The Millions living in Virginia. She is a winner of the Virginia Quarterly's Young Reviewers Contest and has a doctorate from Stanford. Her writing has appeared in The Washington Times, In Character, VQR, Arts & Letters Daily, and The Daily Dish.

7 comments:

  1. Please read Deadwood by Pete Dexter! Also, for fun, check out The Complete Western Stories of Elmore Leonard.

  2. Wow!

    Thank you Emily for your detailed research and recommendations and to the fellow commenters for their recommendations as well.

    We will surely use this as a starting point. Last year when we visited Santa Fe, I picked up a copy of Death Comes to the Archbishop at a small bookstore and simply loved it.

    Thanks again. I really appreciate the effort and the space that the Millions allows us to ask questions like these.

  3. Thomas Berger's *Little Big Man,* for the above, and many more, reasons.

    It's sad Berger's completely fallen out of the consciousness of smart readers.

  4. i would say the first season of deadwood is one of the best seasons of tv ever, especially from a pure writing standpoint, but i think the series really dropped off after that and while the writing remained excellent the story choices became boring and repetitive imo.

    The greatest series of all time, although it's becoming trite to say so, is the wire. You can tell these guys had a complete vision of what they wanted to do and how the wanted to do it right from the start.

  5. Ah, reading Death Come for the Archbishop in New Mexico! It was the first book I read when I lived in Albuquerque and I feel now like it should only be read in NM.

    I'm glad I could be of some help, Emily

  6. Here's some titles from the South Dakota Library Network, I limited it to fiction:

    Tales from Deadwood by Mike Jameson

    Deadwood Gulch: A Ralph Compton novel by John Edward Ames

    Lucky Strike by Nyla Griffith

    Tales from Deadwood: The Gamblers by Mike Jameson

    Deadwood: a novel by Pete Dexter

    Deadwood by Matt Braun

    Back to Deadwood: a collection of short stories set in the Black Hills by G. Sam Carr

    Wild Bill: Black Hills Hellhole by Judd Cole

    Deadwood by Douglas Hirt

    Deadwood by Bill Brooks

    Reading the West: an anthology of dime westerns edited by Bill Brown

    There are others if you are interested, check out http://apollo.sdln.net/F and click on the guest button.

    Patty

Add Your Comment:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *